PSLA Committees

Do you have a talent for planning events?
Do you want to be more involved with PSLA?
You may be the perfect fit for the Executive Director of the PSLA Conference!
Please see this link for the description of the position and the application.


Committee Structure

  • Each committee will have two chairs plus a board liaison.
  • PSLA Members can volunteer to join a committee: Awards, Communications, Conference, Operations, or Teaching & Learning.
  • Task groups and coordinators will work on a specific task or duty within a committee.  Committee members are free to join short-term or long-term task groups. 
  • Co-chairs will identify and advertise task group opportunities.

Click Here to Volunteer to Serve on a Committee or Task Group!


Awards Committee 

Co-Chairs: Melissa Daugherty and Lauren Strohecker
Board Liaison: Craig McFeely

Sample Tasks:

Communications Committee

Co-Chairs: Corey Hall and Laura Ward
Board Liaison: Mary Schwander

Sample Tasks:

  • Develop or curate content of messages to be shared with Association stakeholders
  • Disseminate information using appropriate delivery platforms

Conference Committee

Executive Director of Conference: Caitlin Linsenmann
Board Liaison and Co-chair: Robin Burns

Sample Tasks:

  • Planning Conference Schedule, Program and Events
  • Registration
  • Sponsorships and Exhibits
  • Evaluation and Professional Act 48 Credits

Operations Committee

Co-Chairs: Bob McConnell and Vickie Saltzer
Board Liaison: Aimee Emerson

Sample Tasks:

  • Governance
    • Maintain, monitor, and update the official records (ex. Articles of Incorporation, Constitution and Bylaws), documents (ex. archives, mission, vision and strategic plan) and inventory associated with the governing of the Association.
  • Membership
    • Maintain the official membership file and collection of dues
    • Advise the Board on matters related to membership structure and dues
    • Maintain subscriptions to PSLA Listserv
    • Collect data on the status of school library programs within the Commonwealth
  • Leadership Development
    • Identify and develop leadership with in the Association
    • Conduct nominations and elections in accordance with the provisions in the Constitution and Bylaws of the Association

Teaching & Learning Committee

Co-Chairs: Dustin Brackbill and Kristin Crans
Board Liaison: Ann Schmidt

Sample Tasks

  • Develop, review and inform members about content related to teaching and learning
    • Curriculum
    • Standards (academic standards, program standards, certification standards)
    • Diverse Leaners
    • Teacher Effectiveness
    • Digital Resources (apps, websites, management tools) 
    • Library Administration
    • Promotional Events
  • Deliver content related to teaching and learning utilizing various platforms