Outstanding Pennsylvania School Library

The Outstanding Pennsylvania School Library Award recognizes outstanding school library programming, instruction, and services which are integral to the students' education.

Distinguished Service Award
PSLA Presidential Award
Outstanding Pennsylvania Author and/or Illustrator
Outstanding School Administrator (Building or District)
Outstanding Pennsylvania School Library
Pennsylvania School Library Innovators
Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award Program

2023-  Woodland Hills School District, Kevin McGuire 

Previous Outstanding School Library (previously Outstanding School Library Program) Award Winners 


  • No school district, individual school, or individual is eligible if any librarian or individual is on the Awards Committee, a member of the PSLA Board of Directors, or an elected officer of PSLA.
  • A nominee whose school district has been recognized as an Outstanding Pennsylvania School Library is not eligible to apply again on behalf of a single school for three (3) years, or on behalf of the same district for ten (10) years.
  • The nominee is staffed by at least one full-time, certified school librarian, all of whom maintained consistent PSLA membership over a minimum of three consecutive years at the time of the nomination. (Librarians with fewer than three years in the profession must have current PSLA membership at the time of nomination.)
  • Schools and/or districts of any type (e.g. public, private, charter) or configuration (e.g. grades, buildings, library facilities) are eligible.
  • Nominations for all awards must be completed by a current PSLA member.

Nomination deadline: September 30th.

Nomination Form and Scoring Rubric

Institutional Profile

Note: You will be prompted to make a copy of all forms via Google Docs. To download in another format, please use the File menu.

The Outstanding School Library Program Award (District) has been renamed and revised to align this award with the AASL National Outstanding School Library Award. 

If you have any questions, please contact the Awards Committee Chair ([email protected]).